Sunday, August 31, 2008

The deals are piling in...

Anyone read Spanish or Portuguese?

Brazilian rights to Sherry Jones's THE JEWEL OF MEDINA and A'ISHA AND ALI, to Luciana Villas-boas at Editora Record, by Natasha Kern at Natasha Kern Literary Agency.

Spanish rights to Sherry Jones's THE JEWEL OF MEDINA, to Lucia Luengo at Ediciones B, in a very nice deal, for publication in early spring 2009, by Natasha Kern at the Natasha Kern Literary Agency.

Here are some others from Publishers Marketplace over the last two months.

Ellen Horan's 31 BOND STREET, interweaving fiction with actual events surrounding the infamous murder of Dr. Harvey Burdell and the subsequent trial of his housekeeper and lover Emma Cunningham, a historical narrative that blends romance, politics, greed and sexual intrigue, set against the background of bustling, corrupt New York City, four years before the Civil War, to Jonathan Burnham and Claire Wachtel at Harper, in a major deal, for seven figures, in a pre-empt, for two books, by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates.

Oxford-born Claire Letemendia's debut THE BEST OF MEN, a historical novel in the vein of THE DRESSLODGER and AN INSTANCE OF THE FINGERPOST, set in 17th Century England and Spain, introducing the a nobly born mercenary, spy and cardsharp who, having lost both his honor and faith in mankind, uncovers a plot to kill Charles I and is drawn against his will into helping the one last political figure he respects, to McClelland & Stewart, by Sam Hiyate at The Rights Factory.

The House at Riverton and The Forgotten Garden author Kate Morton's THE DISTANT HOURS, a historical mystery of wartime romance, broken promises and almost-forgotten secrets, to Maria Rejt at Pan Macmillan, in a major deal, in a two-book deal, by Julia Lee at Allen & Unwin.

Michelle Cameron's SHIRA OF ASHKENAZ, about the daughter of one illustrious rabbi and then wife of another, following three generations of the heroine's family as they move from Falaise to Paris and then to Rothenberg, amidst the growing anti-semitism of 13th century Europe, to Maggie Crawford at Pocket, for publication in fall 2009, by Judith Riven at Judith Riven Literary Agent (world). [edited to correct title]

Leila Meacham's ROSES, Spanning the 20th century, following three generations of Texans in a small town dominated by founding families who control the timber and cotton industries and whose deceits, secrets and tragedies are a part of the town's history, to Deb Futter at Grand Central, for publication in January 2010, by David McCormick at McCormick & Williams Literary Agency.

And from Publishers Weekly:

Adam Schell's Tomato Rhapsody: a Tale of Love, Lust, and Forbidden Fruit sold to Kate Miciak and Nita Taublib at Bantam, in a pre-empt, via Laurie Fox at Linda Chester. The debut novel, set in 16th-century Tuscany with a Romeo & Juliet-style love story, is based on the true story of a Jewish man on Columbus's second voyage who brings the tomato from the New World to Italy.
Also, for those interested in my reusable cover art gallery, people have been spotting additional examples and sending them to me at the rate of one or two a week. Take a look for a creative interpretation of Flaming June and yet another reuse of the "bed in the water" image.

6 comments:

  1. September is often a very busy month for book deals because of the looming Frankfurt Book Fair. Publishers begin early, and many of the deals are mooted and talked through in the month before the fair where they are then concluded amid much hype. There's always a mini banquet ahead of the feeding frenzy at Frankfurt. Same in March and only marginally less frantic. Just before the London Bookfair my agent sold 4 of my titles to Portugal.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm glad to see that the Marcus Stone painting is getting a good workout on all of those Jane Austen spinoffs. I have a soft spot for Stone because he did the original illustrations for Dickens's Our Mutual Friend.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Elizabeth, I'll hope to see more deals in the next month then - there have been remarkably few of late!

    Susan, that's pretty interesting. I hadn't heard of Stone before this.

    Just added two more cover art examples tonight, including the first example I've seen of a dupe between inspirational fiction and e-pubbed historical romance. The model shows considerably more cleavage in the latter!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm really interested in the Ellen Horan book. I'd never heard of the case and now I'm intrigued enough to do some additional research of my own. She may just pop up on Scandalous Women!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sarah,

    Thanks for the plug! But Publishers Marketplace got the title wrong -- it's SHIRA OF ASHKENAZ (not Ashkelon). In fact, this is still a working title... a fact I'm struggling with right now!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hi Michelle, thanks for the correction - I've just fixed it (and should have read it more closely before pasting it in!). I'd planned to list it in the November HNR and will make sure it's correct there. From what I've seen, titles end up changing for about 1/3 of the novels I see in PM. Best of luck with the decision-making!

    Elizabeth, I hadn't heard of the Burdell case either. It does sound like a great topic!

    ReplyDelete